JFK

by liaboulton101

JFK-

For my initial idea for my jfk piece I wanted to do a diagram of his skull preferably with the fragments missing so a drew a pieces where the bits of skull as if they where shooting out of the head but I wanted to include some typography so I entwined different conspiracy theories so it looked like it was coming out of the cranium. The outcome of the work did come out well but I still wanted more typography; so I came up with the famous coke label but changing the words Coca-Cola with Capitalism (keeping the coke font) as well as connecting his initials (J.F.K) to look like one, along with three more typography pieces (BANG, ITS KILLER and THE 50 YEAR MYSTERY plus his famous quotation “one person can make a difference and everyone should try”) for the BANG typography I wanted to add an onomatopoeia as the sound of the gun shot must have been horrific so I decided to go with the word BANG as this is the obvious word to go with the sound of a gun but I wanted to add some creativity to this word so I drew a gun into the single letter to make a G and made it look like a bullet has gone through the entire word as it add a little action to the typography piece. For the ITS KILLER piece I wanted to add gore to this one so I tried to draw the first letters in both words to make it look diseased and abnormal but the other letters in the word is quite decretive at it’s the polar opposite as this was suppose to look like the FBI cover up and finally THE 50 YEAR MYSTERY I wanted the title to be catchy and one on the first things your eye looks at so I coloured it in black to make it stand out also I wanted it to look nostalgic (1950s -1960s) and to look quite professional like the title of on old book to represent the 50 year mark. My plan was looking good but I wanted to add a little colour and I’ve always liked Andy Warhol’s pop art e.g. Marilyn Monroe, Lips and the Pop Art Food) so I looked into different types of pop art from the brightly coloured designs to the quit dull thick edged prints as well as the comic strip but I went for the bright coloured pop art as I feel it will be most striking so I drew four JFK in a pop art style but making each one slightly different (Purple- blood eyed, Red- KFC beard (JFKFC) Yellow- Part of skull missing, Green- Target on head where he was shot) I also did a gun with more conspiracies theories behind his assassination as well as different policies he stood for while he was in congress. But I wanted a traditional artistic part to the design to have a coat of arms but to modernise it as it was the 50th anniversary of his assassination and to add something about conspiracy so I came up with ‘we are the superlative conspiracy’ meaning we are the best at make up conspiracies and JFK is the perfect example of this. Finally I did the illuminate symbol, as this was one of the main conspiracy theories.

 

My final piece-

I decided for my final piece I wanted it to be a typography piece as I feel that is my strongest part and I feel that make Coca-Cola moke up piece is the best one as I thing it is most eye catching so I drew it on an A3 sheet of card as well as photo shopping the capitalism label onto a coke bottle so you can see more detail, I like the final piece because it strangely linked and connected to a global and incredibly powerful brand.

 

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=andy+warhol&espv=210&es_sm=91&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=Qxy0Upj-B-Gd7QaK_oGQCA&ved=0CAcQ_AUoAQ&biw=1145&bih=895#es_sm=91&espv=210&q=jfk+coat+of+arms&tbm=isch&imgdii=_

 

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=andy+warhol&espv=210&es_sm=91&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=Qxy0Upj-B-Gd7QaK_oGQCA&ved=0CAcQ_AUoAQ&biw=1145&bih=895#es_sm=91&espv=210&q=andy%20warhol%20pop%20art&revid=999445470&tbm=isch&imgdii=_

 

 

 

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=andy+warhol&espv=210&es_sm=91&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=Qxy0Upj-B-Gd7QaK_oGQCA&ved=0CAcQ_AUoAQ&biw=1145&bih=895#es_sm=91&espv=210&q=jfk+conspiracy+typography&tbm=isch&imgdii=_

 

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation-now/2013/11/21/john-kennedy-conspiracy-theories-assasination/3661891/

 

http://hiphopandpolitics.com/2013/11/21/remembering-john-f-kennedy-asking-stand-civil-human-rights/